MINUTES FROM CANADIAN ASSOCIATION OF FOUNDATIONS OF EDUCATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MONDAY, JUNE 3, 2013 @ 4:30 pm

MAC D 109, UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA

1. CALL TO ORDER:

4:30 pm

2. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA:

Moved: D. Mandzuk Seconded: S. Van Nuland

3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM THE 2012 CAFE AGM:

Moved: M. Forrest Seconded: M. Corbett

4. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES:

N/A

5. REPORTS:

a) PRESIDENT'S REPORT (M. O'SULLIVAN)

President read his report on Preconference, on Issues Relating to Peer Review Process, and on Conference Location Report. Concern for state of the Foundations.

b) 1ST VP REPORT (S. VAN NULAND)

Reported that Publication Award (Refereed Article) will be awarded at CAFE dinner. Each papwer was read 4 times. Past award winners were used as readers. CJE numerical system was used. Announced that next year the Book Award will be awarded (published Jan. 1, 2011-Dec. 31, 2013).

New Scholars Representative must be filled. This award is not tied to 1st VP position. Award is funded through donations. Service role requires reading 20-25 papers. Award has not been awarded for 2 years due to a backlog created by readers who have not completed their service roles.

Thesis/Dissertation Award is being developed. Protocols/framework will be circulated to CAFÉ membership. At that time, feedback will be invited.

c) 2ND VP REPORT (H. RAPTIS)

Summary of report included in minutes. Reported challenge and confusion with conference submission software. Instructions for submissions must be clear. Submitters must be careful to read instructions and follow protocols. Practice of offering first 2 days of program to CPES questioned, as it creates gaps and extends the conference for other CAFE members.

M. Corbett asked about review processes by SIGs. In the past, SociNet reviewed its own submissions. CHEA President also facilitated review of applications from

History. M. Corbett also expressed concern about the absence of a SociNet AGM session in the program.

d) SECRETARY-TREASURER REPORT (T. CHRISTOU)

\$800 (2 x \$400) given to each of the SIGs, as the annual \$400 transfer of funds was not executed in 2011. Michael Corbett opened an account for SociNet to deposit the finds.

e) REPORT FROM CJE REPRESENTATIVE (H. RAPTIS)

CJE has not decuded upon an editor. There is a backlog of articles and an abundance of rumours concerning the journal (i.e. that two issues are prepared an only need an editorial introduction to be completed). Members expressed concern and confusion about the process of submitting to CJE. Should one be patient with the journal or withdraw papers submitted there from consideration (particularly in light of extended delays).

Membership asked that Helen Raptis request a clear statement from the CJE Board regarding the future of the journal, and that she send a report of the CJE Board meeting, which she would attend the next day.

f) REPORTS FROM SIGs

i. CHEA (P. CLARKE, PAST PRESIDENT)

CHEA Biannual Meeting was held in October 2012 in Vancouver, BC. Awards were distributed. Attendance was national and international. Neil Sutherland was honoured. Lynn Lemisko (USASK) has assumed the President's position, and the next CHEA Meeting will be held in Saskatoon (2014). The journal, Historical Studies in Education, is published biannually. A special issue is being produced, which includes submissions from the 2012 Meeting.

ii. SOCINET (M. CORBETT, PRESIDENT)

Michael recounted a brief history of SociNet since the beginning of his Presidency in 2010. In 2011, a number of sessions were created for CSSE, which created energy. There were more than 30 submissions to CSSE from SociNet members in 2012. A database is being created to map out the Canadian sociologists of education, which includes those working in trans-disciplinary fields. There is an openness to discuss ways of moving forward for SociNet. Michael requested consistency in review process (SociNet submissions were reviewed by CAFE this year, but had been reviewed internally in the recent past), a place on the AGM agenda, and a formal AGM in the program.

iii. CPES (D. SIMPSON, PRESIDENT)

CPES launched its thesis award this year (Awarded to Chris Arthur). This award will alternate with a Dissertation Award (which will be awarded next year). The Distinguished Service Award was awarded to Sandra Bruneau. Paideusis remains strong, publishing twice a year under the editorship of Daniel Vokey and Claudia Eppert. The site for the journal is being revised. A higher number of proposals was

rejected this year, and D. Simpson asked Michael to ask about the possibility of securing a greater number of slots for CAFE members in 2014.

6. DISCUSSION OF CSSE SUB-COMMITTEE REPORT ONT EH LOCATION OF FUTURE CONFERENCES

Resolution (included in Agenda) passed unanimously, encouraging CSSE's interests (the presence of a Faculty of Education on site) to be taken into consideration when deciding upon the future site of Congress.

Moved: M. Forrest Seconded: D. Simpson

7. REPORT OF THE PRE CONFERENCE AND ISSUES ARISING FROM IT Helen Raptis will circulate a report, having collated notes from recorders who facilitated each session.

8. DISCUSSION OF CAFE PEER REVIEW PROCESS

Michelle Forrest suggested there should be clearer guidelines for Program Chair. This year, comments from reviewers were not sent in the case of rejected articles (reviewers had the option to keep their comments confidential). Posed the possibility of abandoning the cumbersome software program and using email. Feedback from reviewers should be sufficient and helpful, but not necessarily extensive (taking into consideration the brief 3-page proposal submitted). Questioned the practice of assigning numbers of slots in the program on the basis of past membership, which can result in overly condensed conferences with higher participation, as well as the rejection of proposals that are strong. The annual fee waiver was granted to Graham McDonough, who served as CPES Program Chair.

9. ELECTIONS

1ST Vice President: Theodore Christou (Nominated: Kurt Clausen; Seconded: Michael Corbett)

2ND Vice President: Michael Owen (Nominated: Michelle Forrest; Seconded: Shirley Van Nuland)

Secretary Treasurer: Kurt Clausen (Nominated: Theodore Christou; Seconded: Michael O'Sullivan)

Member at Large: Penney Clark (Nominated: Theodore Christou; Seconded: Kurt Clausen)

Graduate Student Representative: Lynne Alexandrova (Nominated: Helen Raptis; Seconded: Tim Stanley)

10. NEW BUSINESS

Motion Passed regarding OCS Software (see Agenda)

Moved: S. Van Nuland; Seconded: D. Simpson

(Friendly Amendment, M. Forrest: "Member Associations, which"